How to Capture Screenshot’s of Windows Larger Than Your iPad Screen | ios 10

Have You Ever Needed to Take a Screenshot of a Webpage That’s Larger Than the Screen of Your iPad (or iPhone?)

It may seem impossible…but it can be done if you know about the little trick I discovered recently…

This situation seems to happen to me a lot. But up until I figured out this trick…I couldn’t make the content small enough to fit it into the size of one screen.

Logically, it seems like you should be able to pinch the content on the display to a smaller size…even if it’s just for an instant…that would be long enough to capture a screenshot of it. But, what happens instead is this:

Example of how the content doesn't shrink

Example of how the content doesn’t shrink

No amount of pinching would bypass the problem show above. What helped me to figure out my little trick is that one time, forgetting that I couldn’t  do this, I tried yet again and that time I was able to do it! But when I immediately tried it again I couldn’t replicate my success.

I had to figure out what I did differently that time that allowed me to make the content smaller. After quite a few fails, I again had a successful attempt. It was this 2nd success that helped me to realize what the slight modification I’d done, actually was.


Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm. (Winston Churchill)

My Easy Method for Capturing More Screen Content than is Displayed on the Screen of an iPad

I made this YouTube video to demonstrate my simple trick. But then I go on to demonstrate a few additional edits I sometimes use to further refine the finalized  image.

The key to being able to pinch in the screen content enough to capture much more than one screen’s worth of data, is to first ‘unpinch’ the screen a little bit. Meaning that you expand the content displayed on the screen using the opposite of a pinch gesture. Once the screens content has been expanded to slightly larger than normal, you’re now able to pinch the screeen to display a smaller than normal image of the screen without forcing the screen to revert to displaying all of your Safari tabs.

It’s hard to describe, even with the use of screenshots, which is why I made the video below to demonstrate the technique.

What I Used as a Substitute Method to Get A Lot of Content into One Screenshot Prior to Figuring Out My Trick

If you’re wondering why this is such a big deal for me, it’s because in the course of writing for this and my sister website, vsatrends, as well as in creating content for my YouTube channel…I end up using hundreds of screenshots as illustrations. I feel like those activities have sort of forced me to master a lot of problems I originally encountered when trying to get clean and cohesive screenshots.

I’m excited about this new method because in the end it will save me a lot of time. Because my old method involved taking multiple screenshots which I’d then try to perfectly crop and paste together using one of 2 apps…Pages or Pixelmator. Both apps work equally well for that purpose, and both take about the same amount of time…but using Pixelmator usually results in a final image with better resolution. That’s because Pixelmator is an image editing app…so I would save they byproduct of my work as a JPEG image. Whereas, when I used Pages, I would end up taking a screenshot of my merged images and then crop that down to a final copy.

So, to demonstrate this method, I’ll use the Pixelmator approach.

Pixelmator is a powerful full-featured photo editing and painting app that’s $4.99. Apple featured it in their ios 8 live stream event.

Creating One Screenshot Using Multiple Screenshots that are Cropped & Pasted Together in Pixelmator

Here’s the second YouTube video I made demonstrating my trick for taking screenshots when the image you want to capture is larger than the screen of your ios device.

The first thing you’d need to do when using this method is to take several good screen shots, keeping a mental note of where you think you’ll probably adjoin them. It just so happens that I had 2 screenshots that I wanted to merge already, so I demonstrate how to do this using one of my favorite, and most frequently used apps, Pixelmator for ios in the following YouTube video:

One Last Situation You May Encounter is If There’s Too Much Content for Even My New Trick

If that’s the case and you still want to keep this captured information long term you can use another technique I wrote about last year, which is another little trick for creating PDF’s of any webpage, without using the impossibly inflexible sharing methods built into iBooks. You can read more about how to use this ingenious PDF method that’s built into the core of ios here.

Additional Resources

I ran across this brilliant piece that basically includes everything you’ve ever wanted to know about screenshots, created by Zappier, while writing this post:

Zapier’s Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Screenshots

Comments

If you’d like to read reader’s comments or leave your own you can do so,if you scroll way down past the ads WordPress places at the end of this post, and past my bio and related posts. Look for the little comments box.

About vsajewel

Hi...I'm the author of 2 main blogs on WordPress...vsatips...where I write tech tips for mobile devices...primarily ios...2nd is vsatrends...where I write less about tech things and more about everything else. I also host a YouThe channel. I use it to better illustrate some of the posts from vsatips and for other random 'How To' topics. I'm a huge fan of YouTube because I think you can learn pretty much anything in the world there. Sometimes I search for something I can't do and don't find anything. A lot of my videos come from that influence...if I do eventually figure out how to do something :-)
This entry was posted in Apple Devices, ios, iPad and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave any comments or questions here and thanks for visiting!

