Fix an iPad Pro Keyboard Layout Problem Where the ‘y’ key and the ‘z’ key Are  Reversed 

 
I’ve been really frustrated trying to get up to speed while typing on the iPad Pro.  One huge problem I’ve been having is due to the keyboard layout which came with a factory default setting for the onscreen keyboard using a qwertz layout.

Sadly, most Americans  don’t actually use the standard qwertz layout…we use the qwerty layout.  You’d be surprised to discover that one simple swapping of 2 keys, makes a huge difference when it comes to typing proficiency.

I spent quite a bit of time researching the problem and just wasn’t finding any useful help until I read about someone who was using what they called a Slovene keyboard.  Their keyboard description was similar to mine with the ‘y’ and the ‘z’ key reversed.  Now I knew more about what kind of keyboard I was using…but little else.

Specifically I still didn’t know how I could get the keyboard to revert to a different layout.  Then I remembered that a great new feature of ios 9 was the addition of a search box to Settings.  I typed ‘!eyboqrd’ into the search box and found exactly where I needed to go.

The location of the keyboard layout options is:   Settings – General – Keyboard – Keyboards – English

iPad Pro keyboard layout settings

Once you’ve tapped on English you’ll arrive at several layout alternatives.  In my case qwertz was checked off.  I switched it to qwerty and everything is much better now!

3 Keyboard options for 'z' or 'y'

I wrote this post because I had this problem with my iPad Pro’s onscreen keyboard.  Upon fixing the problem using the method above I was faced with a new problem…my keyboard was now stuck in a floating position in the middle of the screen.  This too was really annoying because the problem keyboard was now blocking the area I was attempting to type in at that moment.  So I Googled how to solve that and lo and behold, the solution was the same one I wrote about a few weeks back for unsplitting the keyboard.

In addition to my solution I found a great little YouTube video which explains more about the problem and how to fix it.


Comments

August 4, 2017 at 7:55 pm

Tonya

While on my ipad my letters y and z switched places. How do I switch them back.



August 4, 2017 at 10:32 pm

vsajewel

umm…did you read the article? Did you try what I suggested in it? If you’re still having problems maybe try watching the video I linked to? It explains what’s going on in greater detail. You’ll find it by just try scrolling up a bit. Thanks for visiting :-)



 

About vsajewel

Hi...I'm the author of 2 main blogs on WordPress...vsatips...where I write tech tips for mobile devices...primarily ios...2nd is vsatrends...where I write less about tech things and more about everything else. I also host a YouTube channel which I use to better illustrate some of the 'how to's' in my posts. I love everything about technology. Currently, my main interests/platforms are ios, Windows and Amazon Echo. Recently I decided we were spending way too much money with our local cable provider. So I decided to cut the cord. There is a definite learning curve, especially the antennae part, but we successfully did that and are now saving a boatload of money, so I write some about that. I also am extremely conscientious about security because of an event my family endured , so I write a lot about that too. Two sub-categories of security I tend to focus on are the password manager Dashlane and Hardware Firewalls. Last, I take a lot of notes and have been a beta tester for Evernote for many years. I love Evernote! In recent years Apple has beefed up Apple Notes a lot...so it’s become a fairly serious note contender...as long as its OK if you lose or mess up all your Apple note data. I write about those 2 note platforms primarily.
This entry was posted in ios 9, ios 9 Quick Tips, iPad Pro, Tech Tips and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fix an iPad Pro Keyboard Layout Problem Where the ‘y’ key and the ‘z’ key Are  Reversed 

  1. Riley Finn says:

    This layout is very helpful in fixing the iPad screen repair Auckland keypad issues and the instructions are very simple and the keyboard problem can be easily be fixed by adapting the guidelines.

    Like

Please leave any comments or questions here and thanks for visiting!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.